Draper Wellness Committee

Members of the Draper Wellness Committee, seen in the on-site wellness park

I think it’s always a good day to work at Draper. But today is a banner day. Draper, Inc. has been named the healthiest workplace in the United States for 2014.

Draper tops a list of 100 companies honored by Healthiest Employers LLC, a national organization dedicated to helping improve the wellness of American workers. Last fall, we were selected as Indiana’s healthiest workplace in our class, and as a result we became a semifinalist in the national competition. The top 100 companies have been recognized as finalists, and it’s great to see our name at the very top of that list!

We are deeply honored to receive this award. Of course, it didn’t just happen. Draper’s Safety and Wellness Director, Linda Brinson, and the members of our Wellness Committee have worked hard to build an outstanding wellness program for the benefit of all our employees. Many Draper employees and their family members have enthusiastically supported this effort. And we partner closely with the Henry County Hospital, which staffs the Draper employee health clinic and shares the cost of an employee health coach with us.

Here’s what Linda Brinson had to say about this success: “Draper top management has given full support in all the various wellness initiatives we have offered, which is an important key for any company to have a successful wellness and safety plan. I started at Draper as the Safety and Wellness Director seven years ago and we have gone from raising awareness to helping employees understand the stressors that drive them to unhealthy habits—and giving them tools to succeed.”

The Wellness Committee is a team of Draper employees representing all areas of the company. They volunteer to plan, organize, and run wellness events. Employees who have served on this committee (both current and past) include: Roger Mogg, Dawn Jones, Joe James, Gary Knowles, Peggy Ewing, Lisa Thrall, Janet Driskill, Balinda VanHook, Lisa Knotts, Mike Lykens, Michele Weidner, Tracy Linville, Alicia Cook, Brandi Jones, Dave Elliott, Lindsey Martin, Jennifer Green, Marita Roberson, Jentry Wittkamper, Bob Wilson, Kenneth Risher, Debbie Searcy, and Debbie Spera.

The Healthiest Workplace Award program is operated throughout the United States by Healthiest Employers LLC. Six areas of “workplace wellness” were considered by a group of independent judges: culture and leadership; foundational components; strategic planning; communication and marketing; programming and interventions; and reporting and analysis. The awards recognize employers who have comprehensively incorporated the most effective employee wellness programs and practices.

Here’s the video announcement of the award:


Thank you! Your subscription has been confirmed. You'll hear from us soon.
Receive new blog posts via email