For the second entry in our “Why Draper?” series of posts, we’re introducing you to Scott Cash. You might say that Scott grew up at Draper. Read on …

How did you come to be working at Draper?

Scott CashI began working in the factory as college help during the summer of 1995, at the age of 18. In 1997, John Pidgeon, who is now the president of the company, asked if I would be interested in doing a sales internship since I was studying Sales & Marketing. 19 years later, I’ve been in various positions, such as Gym equipment sales, Regional Sales Manager for the Central United States and Central Canada, and inside AV sales for the Southeastern U.S. I am currently responsible for managing Draper’s e-commerce line of projection screens, and managing Draper’s Online Dealer category. I am also the Information Display Systems/Rear Screens Project Manager, and I am the Product Specialist for several Draper products including rear screens, custom structures and related products, and the TorkStar Utility Line Set product. If it’s out the ordinary, I ‘m probably involved in it.

Funniest moment here?

One occurred during my earlier years at Draper when Eric McDaniel (former Regional Manager and now inside gym sales) and I were both working here during college. Luther Pidgeon (past Owner and President) used to call on Eric to help out with things around his house, and one day he called Eric and told him to get to his house because there was a dead animal in his yard. When he got there, Eric asked Luther where it was and he said, “It’s over there in the yard.” Eric walked up cautiously only to find that it was a bunched up rug in the grass. Those who knew Luther can imagine what Luther had to say when Eric turned to him and told him what it was….”Well (you fill in the blank)!“

Scott and his family (from left) Grant, Luke, Caleb, Kiela, and wife Carmen.

Scott and his family (from left) Grant, Luke, Caleb, Kiela, and wife Carmen.

What do you like to do in your time away from Draper?

I enjoy spending time with my family. We like to travel to Tennessee whenever possible to visit friends. I also enjoy mountain biking as recreation, although it is challenging finding the extra time.

Tell us about your family.

I’ve been married to my wife Carmen for 13 years. We have 4 children – Kiela (11), Grant (9), Caleb (5), and Luke (3). We are currently enjoying the fact that we are no longer changing diapers after nearly a decade of having little ones in the diaper stage … I suppose it’s bittersweet. Now it’s on to wishing they would stop growing up so fast. Go figure!

Thank you! Your subscription has been confirmed. You'll hear from us soon.
Receive new blog posts via email